Distinguished Service Award

Click here for nomination form
The Distinguished Service Award recognizes individuals and organizations who have provided extraordinary service to Career Technical Education and NCLA. The recipient has made a significant and lasting impact on the field of Career Technical Education through their professional accomplishments and by having served in this profession for an extended period. They have also earned the respect and admiration of their colleagues.

2019 Recipient Bryan Albrecht:
Bryan Albrecht Award Winner

Dr. Bryan Albrecht has served as Gateway's President since 2006. Serving as the college’s chief executive, Dr. Albrecht oversees the college's 70 academic programs, 9 campus and center locations, and a comprehensive $160 million budget and a progressive $4 million college foundation. Gateway represents Kenosha, Racine, and Walworth counties and has an economic impact of more than $400 million annually.
In this role, Dr. Albrecht represents the college on more than 50 local, state, and national boards. He supports a comprehensive and vision-driven college, by increasing student support, contemporary programming, positive community partnerships, and innovative classrooms and facilities that reflect the business and industry. Guiding this vision is a team of more than 600 education professionals and 400 industry advisory committee partners.

Under Dr. Albrecht's leadership, Gateway has been recognized as a military friendly college, an innovative college by the United States Department of Labor, a leadership college by the Association for Career and Technical Education, and a model college by the American Association of Community Colleges for sustainable education and economic development.

Previous Award Recipients

2019: Dr. Bryan Albrecht

2018: Ora Morgan and Thom Jones

2017: None awarded

2016: Janet Bray

2015: Doug Major

2014: Jeanette Capshaw

2013: Marilyn Jenkins

2012: Tom Friedemann and Tom Applegate

2011: Greg Pierce

2010: Robin White

2009: Gerry Paist

2008: Kay Martin

2007: Ken Gray

2006: Gene Callahan

2005: Darrell Parks

2004: Jim Stone

Mission Statement

To provide information, professional development and networking to CTE administrators that result in excellence and innovation.


To contribute to the nation's economic prosperity through the promotion and development of excellence in career and technical education.