Distinguished Service Award

What is the Distinguished Service Award?

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes individuals and organizations who have provided extraordinary service to Career Technical Education and NCLA. The recipient has made a significant and lasting impact on the field of Career Technical Education through their professional accomplishments and by having served in this profession for an extended period. They have also earned the respect and admiration of their colleagues. This year's award winners are Mr. Brady McCullough and Ms. Nancy Mulvey. Congratulations Brady and Nancy, and thank you for your service and the impact that you have made and continue to make on the lives of each of us and on the future of career and technical education.


The next Distinguished Service Award will be announced at the Best Practices and Innovations Conference in Austin, Texas on September 29- October 1. If you know of a deserving individual, please be sure to submit your nomination by July 31, 2021.

2020 Recipient #1 Brady McCullough:

Our first recipient, Brady McCullough, has garnered many professional accomplishments throughout his 35 years in education, not only in technology centers, but also in public education, the Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education, and community development. In every position and district this recipient has served, he has maintained an active role in community and professional organizations. Those roles include president, director, treasurer, chair, or member of more than 30 groups. Respect and admiration are two central qualities that are used to describe this recipient. His dedication to the success of CTE is a defining characteristic that sets him apart in the significant and lasting impact he has had on the advancement of CTE. A truly selfless leader, he looks at situations and makes decisions that place Career Tech in stronger positions. He values people and seeks to foster honest relationships out of a genuine desire to have a positive impact on each person. This is the foundation for his approach to leadership and not surprisingly, is the key ingredient to his success as a CTE leader. Mr. Brady McCullough is the superintendent of Autry Technology Center in Enid, Oklahoma. Brady received his award from NCLA Board Member, Dwight Hughes.

2020 Recipient #2 Nancy Mulvey:

Our next recipient, Nancy Mulvey, is a dedicated and passionate career technical education administrator. She has served as a counselor, career specialist, administrator, assistant dean and dean. She recognizes best practices in career and technical education and works to share, adapt and improve those practices to benefit current and future CTE students, as well as the many organizations she serves. This recipient has been a member of ACTE for more than 30 years and with NCLA since 2008 where she previously served as President and Secretary. She consistently strives to push career and technical education into innovative directions while helping ensure that students have authentic learning opportunities.
There are three traits that best describe this recipient’s service to career technical education:
  • Her willingness to lead and try new things
  • Her ability to connect the community with career technical education
  • Her ability to always keep students first.

She has spent her entire career as an educator advocating for students and career technical education. This recipient shares her own ideas and innovations and champions those practices that others have developed, for the benefit of career technical education as a whole. Nancy Mulvey is the Dean of Student Services at Great Oaks Career Campuses in Cincinnati, Ohio. Nancy received her award from NCLA Board Member, Dan Cox.

Previous Award Winners

Dr. Bryan Albrecht

Ora Morgan and Thom Jones

None awarded

Janet Bray

Doug Major

Jeanette Capshaw

Marilyn Jenkins

Tom Friedemann and Tom Applegate

Greg Pierce

Robin White

Gerry Paist

Kay Martin

Ken Gray

Gene Callahan

Darrell Parks

Jim Stone